The Hardest Decisions

So I wrote this essay that got published through A Practical Wedding. It’s one of my favorite websites (raw, real, and beautiful). It was a validating moment, not just because my writing was able to reach a larger audience, but also because I saw how many other people went through similar experiences to me.

I got engaged in November of 2015, but by March of 2016, I knew that it wasn’t the right choice. It was a hard time for me. I was full of anger, disappointment, confusion, and mistrust of myself. Not only had I never had a bad breakup before, but a half-baked wedding was thrown into the mix and amplified every difficult part of what makes breakups excruciating to begin with.

Calling off my wedding, breaking up with my fiancé, and moving out of our apartment was, hands down, the most difficult thing I have ever done. But it’s also been the most empowering decision I’ve ever made in my life. And I’ve been feeling the echoes of it ever since.

Read the essay here, and follow my blog here as I continue to unpack the crazy lessons this journey is teaching me.

Leave a Reply

